Happy (belated) 4th!!

This past weekend I went to the lovely little city of Seattle to visit my sister, meet her new beau, grab a couple of things for the wedding and celebrate the 4th of July, of course.

7.3.09 021

I couldn’t have picked a better time to head out of Yakima. Temperatures were supposed to be in the 90s (maybe higher) and since we don’t have air-conditioning heading to low to mid-80 degree weather seemed like the more comfortable option.

So, after being ‘interviewed’ by the beau we managed to go to Lake Washington for a bit of wading and swimming. I don’t think I’ve ever been to the water in Seattle when the weather has been so lovely! Jason has a convertible and we rode with the top down all the way to the lake. It seemed more like an afternoon at the beach, really. The way the sun hit the trees, the way the sky was just the right color of blue and how the air had a bit of salt-water weight to it.

To the beach!

To the beach!

7.3.09 004

That evening we went to the store to grab some grub and headed home to make burgers. We were joined by a charming friend of my sister’s and the four of us had a feast while talking of film making, relationships, the Twilight phenomenon and the whole Michael Jackson… well, debacle. At nightfall we opted out of going to some incredibly crowded locales to nestle into the cool basement to watch fireworks on TV. What a show! While it would have been impressive in person it was worth it to not have to deal with all those people and the waiting around and the parking and the traffic to get home… am I getting old?

The next day after pancakes (and a second breakfast for my blood-sugar challenged sister :^( we went to MAC at University Village for a make-over and some suggestions. I was helped by Rick Toth (he gave me his card) and he did an amazing job of matching my skin tones and getting the exact look that I wanted for the wedding. After feeling frazzled about the wedding it was sooooo luxurious to have someone use a make-up brush to put moisturizer on my face! Ahhhhh…..

Afterward we did some more looking around and headed home for ribs! (Man, was there a lot of eating that weekend!)

YUM!

YUM!

Archie McPhee was one of the main stops on Sunday for some prizes to go along with our reception games. I’ve never been to a store, I’ve only had their catalogs, and I was a bit amazed by all the STUFF that they had. When I was buying my little finds I asked the guy at the counter how he kept track of it all. He wasn’t too interested in talking and just said something noncommittal about getting used to it or something. Fine. Mara and I sat for a silly photo session in a photo booth and jetted out for tea with a friend.And I headed out not long after.

I’ve been trying to lose a little for the wedding (don’t all brides feel compelled to do that? it’s silly really) and all the weekend’s eating made me want to throw in the towel. I think I’ve given up on trying to lose that little bread loaf that sits just above my belt. Oh well. No one’s really going to care but me. (But if you say anything about me needing to lose a few be prepared to get a bruise or see me start to bawl depending on where we are in the day…)

And by the way, the new beau is pretty awesome… WOOT!

One response to “Happy (belated) 4th!!

  1. Ack. This is supposed to be about YOU!!! 😉 xo

Leave a Reply

